Crane Operator Certifications

Crane operator certification provides the proof that training has been effective, specifically that crane operators have the requisite knowledge and skill to operate a crane safely.  OSHA officially recognizes certification as evidence of an employer having met its requirements for crane operator training.

Employers, Insurance Companies, and Project Owners continue to use CCO Certification as a risk management tool by requiring it as a condition of work.  Much of the industry that uses cranes (steel erection, petrochemical, crane rental, construction, energy and general industry, as well as training, manufacturing, insurance, OSHA and the IUOE) already certify their operators, which creates an advantage over those who are not CCO Certified!

For an individual, not having the proper crane operator certification means he/she won’t be able to find work as a crane operator. For a business, employing operators who lack the proper credentials can mean legal trouble due to OSHA & ASME regulations.

At Nationwide Crane Training, we offer a variety of crane operator certification programs and prep classes guaranteed to help you get NCCCO certified. With prep classes from two to four days in length, there is one to suit the needs of every candidate. We work at the student’s pace to ensure you’ll pass the written test for crane operator certification. In fact, we guarantee it!

Nationwide Crane Training offers prep classes for the following NCCCO certifications in the form of a Private ClassOpen Enrollment, or at our dedicated Crane School in California or Iowa:

Mobile Crane Operator Certification

  • The Mobile Crane Operator Certification is given to Operators who demonstrate proficiency in three crane types:
    • Lattice Boom Cranes (covering both LBC and LBT)
    • Telescopic Boom Cranes—Swing Cab (TLL)
    • Telescopic Boom Cranes—Fixed Cab (TSS)
  • Candidates must pass both a written and practical examination, as well as at least one specialty examination.
  • The NCCCO Written Specialty Examinations for which one can register include:
    • Lattice Boom Cranes (covering both LBC and LBT)
    • Lattice Boom Crawler Cranes (LBC)
    • Lattice Boom Truck Cranes (LBT)
    • Large Telescopic Boom Cranes—Swing Cab (TLL) (boom moves with the cab)
    • Small Telescopic Boom Cranes—Fixed Cab (TSS)( boom does not move with the cab)
  • Candidates must meet minimum age of 18 and health requirements with DOT (what does this mean?)and follow the NCCCO ethics and substance abuse codes meeting OSHA & ASME policies.
  • Candidates have 12 months to successfully complete both the written and practical examinations. If not completed within that time frame, the certification testing must start over.
  • Those who currently have NCCCO certification already meet the terms of this new regulation.

Signal Person

While the new rule does not state that a signalperson must be certified, it does state that they must be qualified and that this qualification must be determined by a qualified evaluator. The certification offered by the NCCCO and Nationwide Crane Training meets this requirement.


Riggers also need to be qualified, not certified. Obtaining NCCCO certification meets this requirement.


Not all operators of articulating cranes are included in the new OSHA requirements. If the articulating cranes, also called knucklebooms, are used to deliver materials, they are not included. However, articulating cranes used to hold or stabilize material, or when moving prefabricated components ARE included in the new requirements.

Crane operator certification is essential if you want a career in this rewarding field or if you have crane operators in your employ. Choose Nationwide Crane Training and get training from some of the best instructors in the industry. Our remarkable pass rate guarantees you will pass. Click here to contact us so we can help you with your NCCCO crane operator certification needs.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply